Where is Cilento located and which municipalities are part of it

October 2018

We talk about Cilento very often, holidays in Cilento, Cilentan places, dishes of traditional cuisine, rituals and traditions of Cilento. We try to explain “cilentanity”, the way of living and thinking in Cilento, to the tourists but from the curious and confused eyes of the travelers we realize that Cilento is actually little known.

Let’s discover Cilento and the municipalities that are part of it!

Cilento is an Italian geographical sub-region of Campania situated between the gulfs of Salerno and Policastro, in the southern part of the region. Located in the province of Salerno, Cilento describes an area that includes over 100 municipalities that consider to be part of Cilento or to be close to it for customs and cultural traditions.

In ancient times Cilento was part of Lucania as witnessed by the linguistic closeness, the culinary traditions and the names of the places.

Cilento is known as one of the centers of the Mediterranean diet.

Thanks to its morphology and composition and the cultural value of the archaeological sites of Paestum, Velia and Vallo di Diano, Cilento has become part of the World Heritage, receiving important international recognition. The first obtained in 1997, saw the inclusion of Cilento in the prestigious network of Mab-Unesco biosphere reserves and the second obtained in 1998 with its inclusion in UNESCO’s World Heritage List. Moreover, in 2010 the National Park of Cilento, Vallo di Diano and Alburni has become the first Italian national park to be recognized as a geopark.

Specifically, the 80 Cilento municipalities that are situated within the territory of the National Park of Cilento, Vallo di Diano and Alburni are: Agropoli, Aquara, Ascea, Auletta, Bellosguardo, Buonabitacolo, Camerota, Cannalonga, Campora, Capaccio, Casal Velino, Casalbuono, Casaletto Spartano, Castel San Lorenzo, Caselle in Pittari, Castelcivita, Castellabate, Castelnuovo Cilento, Celle di Bulgheria, Centola, Ceraso, Cicerale, Controne, Corleto Monforte, Cuccaro Vetere, Felitto, Futani, Gioi, Giungano, Laureana Cilento, Laurino, Laurito , Lustra, Magliano Vetere, Moio of Civitella, Montano Antilia, Monte San Giacomo, Montecorice, Monteforte Cilento, Montesano on Marcellana, Morigerati, Novi Velia, Omignano, Orria, Ottati, Perdifumo, Perito, Petina, Piaggine, Pisciotta, Polla, Pollica , Postiglione, Roccadaspide, Roccagloriosa, Rofrano, Roscigno, Sacco, Salento, San Giovanni a Piro, San Mauro Cilento, San Mauro La Bruca, San Pietro al Tanagro, Sant’Arsenio, San Rufo, Sant’Angelo a Fasanella, Santa Marina, Sanza, Sassano, Serra Mezzana, Sessa Cilento, Sicignano degli Alburni, Stella Cilento, Stio, Teggiano, Torre Orsaia, Tortorella, Trentinara, Valle dell’Angelo and Vallo della Lucania.

Near the National Park of Cilento due to their geographical proximity but also the affinity of customs and traditions, there are the 15 municipalities of Albanella, Alfano, Atena Lucana, Caggiano, Ispani, Ogliastro Cilento, Padula, Pertosa, Prignano Cilento, Rutino, Sala Consilina, Torchiara, Sapri, Torraca and Vibonati. Gradually Cilento acquires and affirms its identity, other municipalities and other nearby places love to call themselves “Cilento”.